Wipe Battery Status – Myth or Reality

Written by
  • 01 Oct 2012
  • View Comments
  • Most Android users prefer to install a custom ROM on their devices, sacrificing some of the stability in favor of new features. A custom ROM also brings the ability to completely modify the system to the user’s liking by installing different mods made for a specific ROM or for deoxed frameworks.

    Wipe_Battery_status

    A majority of custom ROM developers claim that their firmware can bring better battery life than the OEM software. Weather is this true or not  today’s debate concerns another aspect. It is said that installing a different ROM can affect the way the battery info is displayed and can lead to poor battery performance. To avoid this inconvenience, it is recommended by the custom ROM developers that you “wipe your battery status” after each new ROM you install. The method involves charging your device to 100%, booting into your CWM Recovery, hitting advanced and then wipe battery status. Now you should have great battery life, or should you?

    It looks like another Android myth is busted as a Google Engineer decided to take a stand and explain that wiping the battery status does not improve battery life. In fact, it doesn’t do anything then delete the batterystats.bin file that is used to maintain, across reboots, low-level data about the kinds of operations the device and your apps are doing between battery changes. The file is recreated by the system and everything goes back to normal.

    Battery_Status

    Bottom line, wiping the battery status does not improve battery life, make your device faster or your life easier. For better battery life you’re better off sticking with the stock ROM or buying a higher capacity battery. Here is the original statement by Dianne Hackborn, Google Android framework engineer:

    Today’s myth debunking:

     “The battery indicator in the status/notification bar is a reflection of the batterystats.bin file in the data/system/ directory.”

     No, it does not.

     This file is used to maintain, across reboots, low-level data about the kinds of operations the device and your apps are doing between battery changes. That is, it is solely used to compute the blame for battery usage shown in the “Battery Use” UI in settings.

     That is, it has deeply significant things like “app X held a wake lock for 2 minutes” and “the screen was on at 60% brightness for 10 minutes.”

     It has no impact on the current battery level shown to you.

     It has no impact on your battery life.

    Deleting it is not going to do anything to make your more device more fantastic and wonderful… well, unless you have some deep hatred for seeing anything shown in the battery usage UI. And anyway, it is reset every time you unplug from power with a relatively full charge (thus why the battery usage UI data resets at that point), so this would be a much easier way to make it go away.

    If you like this post, make sure you subscribe to our RSS Feed or follow us on Twitter, Facebook, Google+, YouTube for more interesting articles and video reviews!


    Also you can recommend Android Pipe on Google:

    , , , , , ,
    Android Android 4.2 Android 4.2 features Android 5.0 Android app Android game Angry Birds Star Wars CyanogenMod Facebook Gameloft Glu Mobile Google+ Google Drive Google I/O 2013 Google Now Google Play Google Play Store Google Play Store sales Madfinger Games new android game new app Ouya Play Store Play Store sale Rovio sale Samsung Square Enix top 5 Android games Ubisoft